Firefly Fitness with Ken & Jennifer Cornine

Building a Legacy of Health and Happiness

New Year 60 Day Challenge: Day 1

Leave a comment

images

Today I am starting  new journey:  I am on a mission to reclaim my health and fitness.  The holidays are always a turbulent time for me and the first thing to go is my diet, closely followed by the other areas of essential self care: sleep, exercise, moderation…Each year I find it a little harder to bounce back, but this year I have tools at my disposal that I’m going to share here if that’s ok.

The first thing is to GET REAL!  It takes a good long look at where you are starting from in order to see where it is realistic to go.  My starting point is a scary 5 lb holiday weight gain on top of the 5 lbs put on over the course of the previous year.  YIKES!  While I am not on a mission to run on the beach in  a bikini (yet), maintaining a heathy weight is imperative to my physical comfort, ability to move freely and maintain a positive outlook.  For me, physical fitness is essential to mental heath and the ability stay in balance.

Day 1; Step 1 requires a health assessment.  Weight, key measurements -because the scale LIES!- and an honest look in the mirror complete with photos.  Here is how to take your measurements.

Next is the plan.  I am using a new program called The Master’s Hammer & Chisel and participating in an online support group specifically for this program.  Support and accountability are essential to success!  The program has a nutrition guide to follow as well as a workout schedule so that part is easy.

Finally comes the daily motivation component.  It takes work!  Just because it is simple doesn’t mean it is easy.  So motivation and inspiration are key to success, keeping the goal in front of me and getting clear on the why behind the change.

All of these key components I will be sharing here in the next 60 days.  Follow along with me if you like.  I would love some company!  Let’s do this!

 

Leave a Reply

