Firefly Fitness with Ken & Jennifer Cornine

Building a Legacy of Health and Happiness

Today I decided to take a stand. You can too…

Leave a comment

Today I decided to take a stand.  Health & Wellness is my PASSION.  I am often frustrated by the fact that so many people are more willing to spend their hard-earned cash on makeup or pizza or cocktails than on their own or their family’s health and well-being.  I truly don’t mean to insult anyone, but after watching this today, I can’t help but ask the question “WHERE ARE OUR PRIORITIES?”

This talk was recorded in 2010, it is now 5 years later and the statistics are WORSE than ever.  NJ’s obesity rate is on the rise- especially in children.  In NJ,  THE STATE-LEVEL ESTIMATED ANNUAL OBESITY ATTRIBUTABLE EXPENDITURES IS $4447 MILLION.  (That is the latest statistic I found.  It is from 2009.)

obesity stat

Overweight and obese individuals are at increased risk for many diseases and health chronic conditions, including the following:

  • Hypertension (high blood pressure)
  • Osteoarthritis (a degeneration of cartilage and its underlying bone within a joint)
  • Dyslipidemia (for example, high total cholesterol or high levels of triglycerides)
  • Type 2 diabetes
  • Heart disease
  • Stroke
  • Gallbladder disease
  • Sleep apnea and respiratory problems
  • Some cancers (pancreas, kidney, prostate, endometrial, breast, and colon)

Here is my not-so-subtle call to action:

Please let me help your family get your health back on track AND/OR join me to help others reclaim their health.  It is simple, not easy- but simple.  Let’s #endthetrend together!

Please leave a comment below so I can contact you on how to get started on the road to Health!

Leave a Reply

