Firefly Fitness with Ken & Jennifer Cornine

Building a Legacy of Health and Happiness

SMART Goals and Apathy

Leave a comment

The beginning of a year and all of the promises of a blank slate almost begs to reinvent yourself. In my previous post, I touched on my new belief that “reinvention” isn’t necessary or even desirable and that this year I was going for enhancement and improvement on the foundation.

Part of this revamping includes a new health and fitness goal. I wanted something that would challenge me and take me WAY out of my comfort zone. I wanted something that I could do with my husband because together we are better. I wanted something that would bolster my confidence.

But what this goal really represents to me is “follow through”. I believe that in the culture of not being too hard on oneself that is the norm now, I (we?) have become far too apathetic about my (our) goals. Is it possible that I know more now about goal setting (SMART Goals: specific, measureable, achievable, relevant and time sensitive goals and “reach” goals) yet fail to follow through and cross more off of the list? How is that possible?SMART Goals Graphic aaf

A goal too often has become just a dream that floats farther and farther away and the excuses are more and more socially acceptable, personally acceptable. The little voice in my head that will take every opportunity to recoil from difficulty will disguise itself as a real justification, instant gratification of comfort over a perceived obstacle. Too tired, illness, fears, doubts all chip away at resolve and that New Year Resolution disappears by January 15th. And I am ok with it. Like Scarlett O’Hara, “Tomorrow is another day…” becomes the mantra.

It is not ok. Now is the time to hold myself accountable, because it will snowball. Choosing one goal and working at it with excellence and diligence begets another new goal. This is not the time for multitasking. Not yet. And this is not to say that stumbles won’t occur. They will. Life happens, things can get in the way but apathy must not be allowed to take control. Systems have to be in place. It is time to build a success snowball!

For this Goal I have chosen a health and fitness challenge. I will be documenting my journey here and offering up any insights I have along the way. I will be seeking support and asking for accountability and posting my milestones. My goal is:

Specific, measurable, achievable, relevant and timely: I will complete Insanity Max 30 and I will weigh 130 lbs. by March 1st or sooner. This will require a weight loss of 2 lbs. per week (taking into account plateaus). I can accomplish this by burning approximately 1000 calories more per day than I take in. I will post in social media and in my support group every single day and admit to all slip-ups. I will be kind to myself, but I will not allow myself to skip out on my goal.

If you have a burning desire to finally start checking goals off of your list too, to approach life with excellence and diligence, to gain back your confidence- please join me! I will help you set a goal and hold you accountable too. All you have to do is ask.

Leave a Reply

