Firefly Fitness with Ken & Jennifer Cornine

Building a Legacy of Health and Happiness

Grocery Shopping and Designing a Life

Leave a comment

sleep-deprived-woman-grocery-shopping
I hate shopping on Sundays.  Ok maybe hate and Sunday don’t belong in the same sentence.  Suffice it to say that I really, really dislike shopping on Sundays; specifically grocery shopping.  It seems that the whole town is in ShopRite, cranky, crashing carts and cussing or dazed and meandering down the aisles as if seeing it all for the first time.  I m a perimeter shopper mostly- fresh fruit and veggies, meat/fish/poultry, some dairy…you get the idea.  I don’t like to venture too much into the interior, there is something about the smell of Coca-Cola and cheesy poofs that bring out the worst in people.  But there are some things that are necessary in there.  So I take a deep breath, rush in and rush out and finally make my way back to the front of the store and the dreaded checkout line.
That’s when I saw her.  Rosalynn.  She was the cashier and having such a hard time today.  The line was impatient, truth be told I was impatient and Rosalynn couldn’t move fast enough for any of us.  The light above her station switches on indicating a problem that begs the attention of a pimply faced looks-to-be-about 18 years old assistant manager.  He is impatient with Rosalynn as well.  As they work it all out and her faces falls a little bit more when the pimply faced manager in training points out that she has made yet another error, my heart grows heavy.
Rosalynn looks to be in her 70’s and clearly not doing this for the fun of it.  She doesn’t have the Walmart commercial “older happy person working as a greeter to get out and bout” air about her.  She looks as if this is what she has to do to make ends meet, probably not what she thought retirement would like. As I’m waiting in line I think about what those days will be like for me.  What does retirement look like for my generation?  Will it even exist?
I am thankful that I have the opportunity to change my circumstance by owning my own business.  I have the opportunity to create a legacy and to build something that will take care of my future.  I won’t have to burden Emma and Lukas to provide for me, I won’t have to worry about affording quality healthcare or food or whether I will be able to take my grandkids to Disney.  I have designed my life in such a way that the whims of a pubescent assistant manager, cranky customers or aches and pains won’t determine my mood for my day.  If I work with excellence and diligence and continue to add value to other people’s lives, I can create something wonderful.  You can too.
Next it is my turn to check out.  I make sure that I take my time, make eye contact and thank Rosalynn for her help.  She smiles back at me and as she turns to greet the next person in line it slowly fades away.
Leave a Reply

